Hazardous Waste Report: Guidance for Reporting
This guidance document is advisory in nature but is binding on an agency until amended by such agency. A guidance document does not include internal procedural documents that only affect the internal operations of the agency and does not impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties or include confidential information or rules and regulations made in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. If you believe that this guidance document imposes additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties, you may request a review of the document.

Form #:  17-022
Guidance Documents
Revised: 12/23/19



Title 128 - Nebraska Hazardous Waste Regulations require anyone subject to the requirements for large quantity generators (generates more than 1,000 kilograms (2,200 pounds) of hazardous waste per month) at any time during a calendar year and/or facilities that treat, store or dispose (TSD) of hazardous waste to prepare and submit by March 1 of each even-numbered year a Hazardous Waste Report for the reporting cycle. All one-time large quantity generators (also known as episodic large quantity generators) are required to submit a Biennial Report and report the total amount of hazardous waste generated for the entire calendar year and not just for the month(s) they were a large quantity generator.

In the past, the Nebraska Department of Environment and Energy (NDEE) required facilities to complete and submit EPA Form 8700-13 A/B to report their hazardous waste activities, or by using third-party software. However, for the 2019 reporting cycle, the NDEE is requiring use of the RCRAInfo Industry Application. The EPA’s RCRAInfo web interface will greatly simplify and streamline the process from years past. Visit https://rcrainfo.epa.gov/rcrainfoprod/ * to create a log-in and complete your report.

Your report must be submitted through the RCRAInfo web application by March 1, 2020. If you are unable to submit the report by March 1, 2020, you may request an extension of no more than 30 days. Your request for an extension must be made in writing and sent to the NDEE at the address listed above; must state the reason for which the extension is requested; must state the amount of additional time required to file the report (not to exceed 30 days); and must be received by the NDEE no later than April 1, 2020.

The 2019 Hazardous Waste Report Instructions and Forms (8700-13(A/B)) may be viewed at https://www.epa.gov/hwgenerators/hazardous-waste-report-instructions-and-form *. Additional information regarding completion of the 2019 Hazardous Waste Report may be found in the Hazardous Waste Report Instructions and Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs). (on the NDEE website dee.ne.gov)


Produced by: Nebraska Department of Environment and Energy, P.O. Box 98922, Lincoln, NE 68509-8922; phone (402) 471-2186. To view this, and other information related to our agency, visit our web site at http://dee.ne.gov.



* This Page contains links to Non-NDEQ websites, these links will open in a New Tab or Window