Land Application Training
This guidance document is advisory in nature but is binding on an agency until amended by such agency. A guidance document does not include internal procedural documents that only affect the internal operations of the agency and does not impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties or include confidential information or rules and regulations made in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. If you believe that this guidance document imposes additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties, you may request a review of the document.

Form #:  18-001
Guidance Documents
Revised: 1/16/18
SizeFile Name
32 KB 18-001 Land App Training.pdf


All Large Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations (CAFOs) and National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit holders are required to satisfactorily complete land application training. An authorized representative, permittee, or employee of the operation must complete this training within 180 days of the operation receiving an approval to operate under a Construction and Operating Permit or of receiving NPDES permit coverage, unless such training was satisfactorily completed within the previous 5 years.

Title 130, “Livestock Waste Control Regulations,” Chapter 5, requires at least one of the above-named persons to satisfactorily complete additional training every 5 years thereafter. When training is required, the permittee is responsible for insuring the training is obtained and for keeping records of the land application training. The Department also encourages permittees to make this training available to the employees of the operation actually responsible for the land application of livestock waste.

Currently, the following options have been approved by the Department as meeting the requirement to obtain Land Application Training.
A) Winter Training WorkshopsAn approved land application training program is offered annually, by UNL, during the first quarter of the year. Dates of the training will be announced in January prior to the first workshop, or you may contact the Department, Agriculture Section at (402) 471-4239.

For anyone taking the training for the first time, the initial training involves morning and afternoon sessions. The renewal training (required every 5 years) requires the morning session only. To pre-register for the training, contact UNL Extension CNMP Project Coordinator Leslie Johnson at (402) 584-3818.

B) Archived Training – An archive of the winter training material is available for viewing by making arrangements through a County Extension Educator. Viewing the archived material may be an alternative method for completing land application training. Persons taking land application training by this method must obtain a letter of attendance from the Extension Educator to meet the training requirement.

C) Online Training – An approved land application training program is also offered online by UNL. This option is valid for both initial and recertification training and is available anytime at the following website: https://water.unl.edu/welcome-land-application-training-online.* For questions about this training option, contact UNL Extension CNMP Project Coordinator Leslie Johnson at (402) 584-3818.

Agriculture Section – Livestock Waste Control Program
The Atrium, 1200 N Street, Suite 400, P.O. Box 98922
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8922
Phone: (402) 471-2186 Fax: (402) 471-2909


Extension Personnel Involved with Land Application Training

Leslie Johnson (Coordinator)
57905 866 Road, NEREC
Concord, NE 68728-2828
402-584-3818
ljohnson13@unl.edu

Denny Bauer
148 W. 4th Street
Ainsworth, NE 69210-1696
402-387-2213
dbauer1@unl.edu

Chuck Burr
1308 2nd Street
Holdrege, NE 68949-2803
308-995-8425
cburr1@unl.edu

Paul Hay
1115 West Scott Street
Beatrice, NE 68310
402-233-1384
phay1@unl.edu

Tom Holman
4502 Avenue I, PHREC
Scottsbluff, NE 69361-4939
308-632-1480
tholman1@unl.edu

Larry Howard
200 S. Lincoln Street
P.O. Box 285
West Point, NE 68788-0285
402-372-6006
lhoward1@unl.edu

Keith Jarvi
57905 866 Road, NEREC
Concord, NE 68728-0285
402-584-3819
kjarvi1@unl.edu

Aaron Nygren
P.O. Box 389
Schuyler, NE 68661-0389
402-352-3821
anygren2@unl.edu

Steven Pritchard
222 South 4th Street
Albion, NE 68620-1247
402-395-2158
spritchard1@unl.edu


Jenny Rees
111 W. Fairfield
Clay Center, NE 68933-1499
402-762-3644
jrees2@unl.edu

Darrel Siekman
P.O. Box 27, Courthouse
Central City, NE 68826-0027
308-946-3843
dsiekman1@unl.edu

Bruce Treffer
P.O. Box 757
Lexington, NE 68850-0757
308-324-8224
btreffer1@unl.edu

Troy Walz
431 S. 10th Avenue
Broken Bow, NE 68822-2099
308-872-6831
twalz1@unl.edu

Gary Zoubek
2345 Nebraska Avenue
York, NE 68467-1104
402-362-5508
gzoubek1@unl.edu


* This Page contains links to Non-NDEQ websites, these links will open in a New Tab or Window