Your Environment:

By Region:

Short Grass Prairie - (Western Nebraska)

The Short Grass prairie region is comprised of 13 counties in southwest and western Nebraska. The landscape of this region is the most diverse of the four regions identified for this report. It varies from flat to rolling plains in the south, a wide alluvial valley and associated terraces along the North Platte River, ponderosa pine woodlands and canyons in the north, and an area of badlands in the far north.
Cities within the Short Grass region include Scottsbluff/Gering (pop. 22,483), Alliance (8959), Sidney (6282), Chadron (5634), Ogallala (5142), and Kimball (2559). More information

Short Grass Prairie Regional Statistics

Return to Your Environment Main Page