Your Environment:

By Region:

Tall Grass Prairie - (Eastern Nebraska)

The Tall Grass prairie region is comprised of 27 counties in eastern Nebraska, an area of gently rolling hills once nearly completely covered with tall grass prairie. Approximately one to two percent (about 300,000 scattered acres) of the original tall grass prairie remain. Land use in the region is predominantly cropland agriculture and livestock grazing.

Cities in this region include the Omaha metropolitan area (population 673,456 in the Nebraska portion of metro area), Lincoln (225,641), Fremont (25,174), Norfolk (23,516), Columbus (20,998), and Beatrice (12,518). More information
Tall Grass Prairie Regional Statistics
Return to Your Environment Main Page