Your Environment:

By Region:

Mixed Grass Prairie - (South-Central Nebraska)

The Mixed Grass prairie region is comprised of 35 counties primarily in central and south-central Nebraska, an area of approximately 17,000 square miles. The “Mixed Grass” designation refers to the transition in vegetation and landscape from the wetter, fertile land in the far eastern portion of the region to the drier lands of the far western portion. The population of the region tends to follow the same pattern as average precipitation: as precipitation increases from west to east, population increases.

Cities in the region include Grand Island (pop. 42,940), Kearney (27,431), Hastings (24,064), North Platte (23,878), York (8081), and McCook (7996). More information

Mixed Grass Prairie Regional Statistics
Return to Your Environment Main Page